My Top 5 Super Bowl Commercials

NBC played host to the Super Bowl this year, and an average of $3.5 million was spent for 30 seconds of prime commercial air time. Some commercials fell flat, but others truly shined. Here are my top 5 commercials during the Super Bowl!

1. M&M’s “Just My Shell”

From start to “wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, yeah!” This M&M’s commercial knocks it out of the park. It’s funny, simple, hip to the times, and gets the point across effectively. While most commercials try way too hard, this one was just right. Who doesn’t love those chocolatey M&M’s?

2. Clint Eastwood “It’s Halftime America”

It’s CLINT FREAKING EASTWOOD! If he tells you to get off his lawn, you better run. I loved this commercial, and I loved it because it had heart. We all know America is struggling with the economy, and while it seems like there’s no end in sight, you stay strong no matter what. If any country has a fighting shot at recovery, it’s this one. To quote Eastwood  “This country can’t be knocked out with one punch, we get right back up again and when we do the world is gonna hear the roar of our engines….. yuh… it’s halftime America, and our second half is about to begin.” I love it!

3. Chevrolet “Happy Grad”

“Hey Mr. Johnson just stole my car!” How can you not love this commercial?! Well I can relate, I just graduated college and when you graduate you think the world of yourself! You think you deserve everything, when really nothing has even begun. Great emotion in this one, as his parents stand with the real gift which seems to be a mini fridge. “Best gift ever!”

4. Sketchers “Go Run Mr. Quiggly!”

Sketchers flips the script on us and kills of the Kim Kardashian Shape-ups commercial from last year, and replaces her with a French Bulldog. Anyone surprised this actually worked? I’m not because unlike the delusional, I think Kim Kardashian has literally no talent! So my props to Sketchers on finding a Bulldog that does! Mr. Quiggly puts on those Sketchers and finishes in style. I also loved the Mark Cuban cameo at the end.

5. Honda “Matthew’s Day Off”

First let me say if you haven’t seen Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, go watch it. Without being a fan of the movie this commercial will make no sense. I loved Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and I really think Honda did a good job rehashing the films most memorable scenes. Broderick has certainly gained a few pounds but still pulls off the innocent sick child routine. Great commercial, brought back memories of when I first came across this hilarious film.

Let me give some honorable mentions to Doritos, Acura, Budweiser, Volkswagen and Toyota. I really thought the car manufacturers did well this year.

What are your top 5 commercials?

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Super Bowl Commercials

  1. Good write up…We need some great writeup like yours…Wonder why no mention of the script writers and the creators/producers of the adds too…They need some Kudos as well…Hope to see something more from you….very interesting…

Leave a Reply

